Another day, another camera (or two)

I’ve told you about the charity shop near where I work before – it smells of wee and is operated by an old man, who seems to run the place without ever leaving the little stool he sits on in the middle of the shop. It is also a great place for sourcing retro cameras on one’s luncheon break. Today’s Trip (you’ll see what I did there shortly) to the Wee Shop yielded yet another photographic treat.

Check this out:

Olympus Trip 35 camera

The Olympus Trip 35 camera, a 70s classic. In it’s heyday this puppy was endorsed by the great David Bailey and came with the promise that it would produce images to match the best SLRs around at the time. Having grown up with one of these cameras – my parents were the proud owners – I have to say I’m not yet convinced about this. All the family photographs I’ve ever seen are typically blurred affairs with heads lopped off as standard and facial expressions that are only believable because they are caught on camera (and therefore, in the pre-digital Kodachrome era, must be true, even if it doesn’t rhyme).

Nonetheless this was the first camera to catch my attention. I’m not sure if it was the fascinating looking Selenium light metering ring around the lens, the satisfying shutter noise or the interesting dials around the lens with a strange sequence of numbers on it, but I remember being extremely interested in the family camera. I also have vivid memories of being told repeatedly, not to touch it – it was expensive. Just FYI – the man in the Wee Shop charged me the usual £2 for mine, with the standard guarantee that if it didn’t work, I could have my money back.

So now I’m the proud owner of a Trip 35, which I can touch all I want. Obviously since returning home from work I have had to Google the Trip 35 and let me tell you, it was no surprise to find that someone had dedicated a whole website to the little camera. Well, a whole Homepage, anyway.

This included a range of very informative tips on how to get the most out of my new toy. By opening the film compartment and carefully removing the pressure plate on the back of the door to reveal the ‘secret’ serial number, I’ve already worked out that mine was made in March 1974 (B34). What fun! Can’t wait to try out those modifciations that will allow me to shoot at different shutter speeds…

Now I’m going to go and join the other 436 members of the Olympus Trip 35 Flickr Group

Leave a Reply

