Colour Swinger

morecambe11

Four packets of Polaroid 88 film and a Colour Swinger. Two packets of Delta 100 film and four of Delta 3200. Or something like that. And a Rolleiflex. Photographic ballast sinking my rucksack and pulling the straps taught on my shoulders. Luggage.

All I need now is sun. No flash. No wow. No idea what I will want to photograph but hopefully Morecambe will deliver. It’s 15.55hrs on Sunday 5 April and I’m almost at Lancaster. This is uncharted territory save a university open day here, ten years ago.

The sun is high and bright and my camera is sitting on the table soaking up rays of light. I could click the shutter and capture a jolted blur or I could leave it as it is, saving film for the seaside. As the train slows on it’s approach to Lancaster I’m calmer than I’ve been in weeks and my eyes are open. Almost.

Polaroid Colour Swinger camera with leather carrying case

Polaroid Colour Swinger camera with leather carrying case

Leave a Reply

